In this guide
What is devil's claw?
Devil’s claw refers to Harpagophytum procumbens or H. zeyheri, southern African plants whose dry secondary root tubers are used. It is unrelated to cat’s claw. Extract identity, species, root material and harpagoside standardization affect what a product contains. [4]
Research focuses on low-back pain and osteoarthritis symptoms. NCCIH describes low-quality short-term evidence for back pain, insufficient reliable long-term safety and effectiveness for osteoarthritis, and a 2019 review recommending against use for chronic musculoskeletal pain. [1]
Typical Devil's Claw Protocols
| Source and context | Material | Amount | Frequency | Duration | Observed result |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chrubasik 1999 · exacerbation of low-back pain | WS 1531 Harpagophytum extract | 600 or 1,200 mg extract daily, delivering 50 or 100 mg harpagoside | Daily total; within-day frequency not reported in the abstract | 4 weeks | Pain-free without permitted tramadol rescue during final week was the primary endpoint 197 participants; do not report harpagoside marker amount as extract mass. |
| Farpour 2021 · mild knee osteoarthritis | Teltonal H. procumbens tablets | Two 480 mg tablets daily | Daily total; distribution across the day not reported in the abstract | 1 month, with follow-up through week 8 | Pain and function improved in the active-comparator study 60 participants; comparator was meloxicam 15 mg/day for only 10 days; no placebo arm. |
| Health Canada 2026 · osteoarthritis label pathway | Dry secondary root tuber of H. procumbens and/or H. zeyheri | 0.6–7.5 g dry-root equivalent per day | According to licensed product label | At least 8 weeks to see beneficial effects on the label | Regulatory monograph condition A monograph range is not a universal clinical recommendation or proof of product equivalence. |
There is no established RDA, AI or tolerable upper intake level. Milligrams of extract, harpagoside and dry-root equivalent must remain separate.
- Titration
- No evidence-based self-titration schedule is established.
- Timing
- The accessible abstracts do not establish a superior meal relationship or within-day schedule.
- Duration
- The back-pain trial lasted four weeks. A label instruction to allow eight weeks for joint effects does not establish long-term safety.
- Stopping
- Stop and seek review for severe digestive pain, bleeding, allergy, fainting, heart-rate changes or symptomatic low blood glucose.
Three units, no automatic conversion
The label must connect each quantity to the tested material.
WS 1531 used 600 or 1,200 mg/day.
Those doses supplied 50 or 100 mg/day.
Canadian label ranges use another unit.
What is devil's claw commonly used for?
Common uses include low-back pain, osteoarthritis, joint pain, appetite and indigestion. Short-term back-pain evidence does not establish treatment of inflammatory arthritis, structural joint repair or chronic pain broadly. Traditional digestive label uses are not the same as modern efficacy trials. [1], [4]
Which form and label details matter?
Record species, secondary root tuber, extract ratio and solvent, milligrams of extract, harpagoside per daily amount, dry-root equivalent, administrations and lot. A mixed-species product or unstandardized powder does not automatically match WS 1531 or Teltonal.
What does the human evidence show?
Chrubasik 1999 randomized 197 adults with an exacerbation of low-back pain to placebo or WS 1531 providing 50 or 100 mg/day harpagoside from 600 or 1,200 mg/day extract. Treatment lasted four weeks. The primary endpoint was being pain-free without permitted tramadol rescue for five days in the final week. The abstract supports a source-specific short-term result, not an interchangeable class dose. [2]
NCCIH summarizes a 2014 Cochrane review of two trials and 315 participants as low-quality evidence that devil’s claw may improve short-term low-back pain and reduce rescue medication. It also cites a 2019 review recommending against devil’s claw for chronic musculoskeletal pain and finds insufficient reliable long-term osteoarthritis evidence. [1]
The 2021 knee-osteoarthritis trial randomized 60 adults to two 480 mg Teltonal tablets daily for one month or meloxicam 15 mg/day for ten days, then followed outcomes through eight weeks. Without placebo and with unequal treatment durations, symptom improvement cannot establish equivalence, isolate natural history or support all devil’s-claw products. [3]
How might devil's claw work?
Harpagoside and related iridoid glycosides are studied for inflammatory and pain signaling. Marker standardization helps describe a preparation but does not prove that harpagoside alone causes a clinical result or that equal marker amounts make extracts equivalent.
What are the risks and interactions?
Adverse-event rates in trials were generally low, but long-term data are inadequate. NCCIH cautions that devil’s claw may affect heart rate, blood pressure and glucose. People with heart or circulatory disease, diabetes, gallstones or peptic ulcer disease need review or should avoid it as specified. [1]
Pregnancy and breastfeeding require professional review under the Canadian monograph. Health Canada also lists devil’s claw among products that may interact with warfarin. Keep anticoagulants, diabetes medicines, blood-pressure drugs and other pain products visible. [4]
Get urgent care for trouble breathing, facial or throat swelling, black or bloody stool, vomiting blood, fainting, chest pain, severe abdominal pain or confusion with low glucose.
Legal status in the United States and Canada
In the United States, devil’s-claw products may be sold as dietary supplements and are not FDA-approved pain or arthritis treatments.
In Canada, Health Canada’s March 2026 monograph covers oral dry secondary root tubers of H. procumbens and H. zeyheri under specified label conditions. [4]
What should be monitored?
Record species, extract name, extract mass, harpagoside, dry-root equivalent, amount per administration, frequency, pain and function, rescue medicine, blood pressure, glucose when relevant, heart-rate symptoms and digestive effects.
What happens after stopping?
No withdrawal syndrome or taper is established. Pain may return or fluctuate; worsening or neurologic back-pain symptoms require assessment.
How should devil's claw be stored?
Follow the label, keep the product sealed away from heat and moisture, and retain the lot and expiry date.
Community experience
Community reports often omit species, root part, extract ratio and harpagoside. They may help surface digestive tolerance or timing questions, but cannot establish efficacy, equivalence or safety.
How does devil's claw compare with other approaches?
Exercise, physical therapy, established pain medicines and condition-specific care have different evidence and risks. The evidence does not justify replacing diagnostic evaluation or prescribed arthritis treatment.
Common questions
Is 100 mg harpagoside the same as 100 mg extract?
No. In WS 1531, 100 mg harpagoside came from 1,200 mg extract. [2]
Was tramadol allowed in the back-pain trial?
Yes. Being pain-free without rescue tramadol was part of the endpoint. [2]
Did the knee trial prove equivalence to meloxicam?
No. It lacked placebo and used different treatment durations. [3]
Are both Harpagophytum species equivalent?
Do not assume equivalence without preparation data.
Is it safe for peptic ulcer disease?
NCCIH advises avoidance. [1]
Can it affect glucose or blood pressure?
Yes, these are recognized cautions. [1]
Can it be taken with warfarin?
Health Canada flags a possible interaction; clinical review is needed.
Glossary
Terms used in this guide.
- Harpagoside
- An iridoid glycoside used as a marker in some devil’s-claw extracts.
- Dry-root equivalent
- The amount of dry root represented by an extract.
- Active comparator
- An established treatment used as the control instead of placebo.
- Rescue medicine
- Additional treatment permitted when symptoms require relief.
- Secondary root tuber
- The specified underground plant part in the Canadian monograph.
- Titration
- Planned dose adjustment; no self-titration schedule is established here.
How this guide was researched
This draft prioritized NCCIH’s clinical digest, the WS 1531 trial abstract, the 2021 knee trial abstract and Health Canada’s March 2026 monograph. Evidence was refreshed October 9, 2026.
How this guide was made
The ledger preserves species, plant part, extract mass, harpagoside, dry-root equivalent, rescue medicine and source access.
Research method and gaps
The official NCCIH digest and Health Canada monograph were reviewed directly. Trial details came from PubMed abstracts, so within-day frequency remains unreported where only daily totals appear.
Gaps include modern placebo-controlled replication, long-term safety, product equivalence and independently replicated osteoarthritis outcomes.
Sources
Search the official summary, trials and monograph.
Showing 4 sources
- 01
Nutritional Approaches for Musculoskeletal Pain and Inflammation ↗
Official evidence and safety summary
Low-quality short-term back-pain evidence and long-term safety, heart, glucose, gallstone and ulcer cautions.
- 02
Effectiveness of Harpagophytum extract WS 1531 in the treatment of exacerbation of low back pain: a randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind study. ↗
Randomized double-blind trial
600 or 1,200 mg extract daily, providing 50 or 100 mg harpagoside, for four weeks.
- 03
The Efficacy of Harpagophytum procumbens (Teltonal) in Patients with Knee Osteoarthritis: A Randomized Active-Controlled Clinical Trial. ↗
Randomized active-controlled trial
Two 480 mg tablets daily for one month versus meloxicam for ten days; no placebo.
- 04
Devil's Claw — Harpagophytum Monograph ↗
Natural health product monograph
Covers dry secondary root tubers of two species and specified oral label conditions.
No matching sources
Try a different term or show the full list.