Skip to main content

For informational and research purposes only.

Medical DisclaimerTerms of Use

Mitochondrial Stack: SS-31, MOTS-c, NAD+ and the Mito-Genesis, MitoBoost and MitoStack Blends

SS-31, MOTS-c and NAD+, sometimes with 5-Amino-1MQ or methylene blue: what is in the Mito-Genesis, MitoBoost and MitoStack blends, how the separate protocols line up, and why nobody has tested the combination in people.

Community combination, not studied together

No human trial has given any two of these together. The only combination studies are in mice and used NMN, an oral NAD+ precursor, not injected NAD+. [1], [2]

  • SS-31

    Core. A four-amino-acid peptide (elamipretide) that binds the inner membrane of mitochondria. [3]

    Evidence
    Large trials, negative outside one rare disease
    Status
    Approved as Forzinity for Barth syndrome only; research vials unapproved
  • MOTS-c

    Core. A 16-amino-acid peptide made from a gene in mitochondrial DNA, studied in mice for metabolism. [4]

    Evidence
    Never given to people; mouse and cell studies
    Status
    Research compound; banned in sport by name
  • NAD+

    Core. A coenzyme (a helper molecule for enzymes) that cells use to make energy. Not a peptide. [5]

    Evidence
    Small human studies in specific diseases
    Status
    Not an approved medicine in the US
  • 5-Amino-1MQ

    Optional. A small molecule, not a peptide, that blocks the enzyme NNMT; swallowed or injected. [6]

    Evidence
    None in people; mouse studies
    Status
    Research compound, not approved
  • Methylene blue

    Optional. A blue dye and hospital medicine, swallowed in small amounts in this stack. [7]

    Evidence
    Established only for a blood disorder
    Status
    Approved IV medicine; oral wellness products unapproved

Why people combine them: More energy, endurance and healthy aging by supporting mitochondria, the parts of cells that make energy. The reasoning comes from separate animal, cell and disease studies, not tests of the combination.

Also called: Mito stack (mitochondrial triple stack), Mito-Genesis (MitoPrime), MitoBoost, MitoStack, Blazer (Blazer Blend), Mitochondrial Reset, Nexus

What is in the common mitochondrial blends. MitoBoost, a 2 mL pen: 10 mg SS-31, 10 mg MOTS-c and 200 mg NAD+, 220 mg in total. Mito-Genesis, also sold as MitoPrime: 100 mg NAD+, 10 mg 5-Amino-1MQ and 10 mg MOTS-c, 120 mg in total. MitoStack: 25 mg SS-31 and 25 mg MOTS-c, 50 mg in total. In MitoBoost and Mito-Genesis, NAD+ is most of the weight, so a dose sized for MOTS-c carries 10 to 20 times as much NAD+. Amounts are per vial or pen as sellers list them. One MitoStack lab test found more MOTS-c than its label. No combination has been tested in people.

Per-vial or per-pen amounts as sellers list them. Bar length shows the total weight. Labels are not proof of contents; one MitoStack test found more MOTS-c than the label. No combination has been tested in people. [10], [13], [15], [16]
Published by DoserlyUpdated Next scheduled review: December 202615 min readHow this guide was made
In this guide

What is the mitochondrial stack?

The mitochondrial stack is SS-31, MOTS-c and NAD+ used together, often called the mito stack. Some people add 5-Amino-1MQ or methylene blue, and premixed versions are sold as Mito-Genesis, MitoBoost and MitoStack. People use it hoping for more energy and healthier aging. No human trial has tested it. [8], [9], [19]

The parts are very different. Only SS-31 has large human trials, and those failed outside one rare disease; it and IV methylene blue are the only approved medicines, each for one condition. MOTS-c has never been given to people. NAD+ is a coenzyme with small human studies in specific diseases. 5-Amino-1MQ and methylene blue are not peptides. [20], [21], [5]

In community education groups, SS-31, MOTS-c and NAD+ together are taught as the default mitochondrial template, and many people using it are also taking a GLP-1 weight-loss drug such as tirzepatide or retatrutide. That makes reports of better energy hard to credit to any one part.

What's in it, and what else is it called?

The core is SS-31, MOTS-c and NAD+. Two optional parts come up most: 5-Amino-1MQ, often when weight loss is a second aim, and methylene blue, swallowed rather than injected. Protocol pages describe the three core parts as separate vials, usually started one after another. [8], [18]

Names people use for this stack
NameTypeWhat it usually containsWhere sources disagree
Mito stack (mitochondrial triple stack)Community nameSS-31 + MOTS-c + NAD+ from separate vials, often with 5-Amino-1MQ or methylene blue added [8], [9]The usual order is SS-31 first; no study has tested any order. [9]
Mito-Genesis (MitoPrime)Premixed blendNAD+ 100 mg + 5-Amino-1MQ 10 mg + MOTS-c 10 mg per vial (120 mg in total) [10], [11]The seller's US page titles the same batch "MitoPrime"; another seller sells the formula unbranded. [12] Mito-Genesis details
MitoBoostPremixed blendSS-31 10 mg + MOTS-c 10 mg + NAD+ 200 mg in a 2 mL pen (220 mg in total) [13]Also sold unbranded as a 300-unit pen; the name is used for unrelated supplements too. [14] MitoBoost details
MitoStackPremixed blendSS-31 25 mg + MOTS-c 25 mg per vial (50 mg in total) [15]Its posted test is for a sample labelled 40 mg. Another seller lists an unnamed SS-31 and MOTS-c 40 mg vial. [16], [17] MitoStack details
Blazer (Blazer Blend)Premixed blendCommunity education groups describe it as NAD+ with MOTS-c; we found no open page confirming the name or the amountsCheck the label for each amount. Blazer details
Mitochondrial ResetCommunity nameSS-31 + MOTS-c + 5-Amino-1MQ as separate products, one protocol site's name [18]A schedule name, not a premixed vial.
NexusPremixed blendNot consistently documented [17]Listed only as a "mitochondrial research blend" (about 120 mg), without its parts.

A name does not fix what is in the vial. "MitoBoost" is also used for unrelated supplements, the Mito-Genesis seller's US page calls the same batch "MitoPrime", and the MitoStack test certificate describes a 40 mg sample for a 50 mg product. Only the label's amount for each part tells you what a dose contains. [14], [11], [16]

What is in each blend in this stack?

The most common premixed vials are NAD+ with 5-Amino-1MQ and MOTS-c (Mito-Genesis) and SS-31 with MOTS-c and NAD+ (MitoBoost). MitoStack pairs SS-31 with MOTS-c. Blazer is a name community education groups use for NAD+ with MOTS-c. No blend has been tested in people, and no regulator notice we found names any of them.

Amounts below are what labels state. They are not doses, and not proof of contents.

Mito-Genesis and other NAD+, 5-Amino-1MQ and MOTS-c vials

NAD+ 100 mg with 5-Amino-1MQ and MOTS-c at 10 mg each, freeze-dried together (10:1:1). So 1 mg of powder holds about 833 mcg of NAD+ and 83 mcg of each other part.

ProductNAD+5-Amino-1MQMOTS-cLab result the seller postsSources
Mito-Genesis, 120 mg (Canada page)100 mg10 mg10 mg99.22 / 11.43 / 11.14 mg[10]
Same batch as "MitoPrime" (US page)100 mg10 mg10 mgSame numbers, parts swapped; different result date[11]
Unbranded blend, 120 mg100 mg10 mg10 mg93.10 / 11.05 / 11.08 mg[12]
  • Where sellers disagree: the three pages we checked list the same amounts, but not the same test details. The same batch shows a July 3 result on the Canadian page and July 21 on the US page. The US page also swaps which part measured 11.43 mg and which 11.14 mg. A MOTS-c and 5-Amino-1MQ vial without NAD+ belongs to the non-incretin fat-loss stack. [10], [11]
  • What 5-Amino-1MQ is claimed to add: it blocks NNMT, an enzyme that uses up a building block of NAD+, so it is said to spare NAD+. A 2025 review proposes testing such blockers with NAD+ precursors, which means it has not been done. Its guide finds no human studies at all. Injection pages use 150 mcg to 5 mg a day; the 50–150 mg amounts are for capsules. [22], [6], [23]
  • Stated amounts: none. The seller says the combination "is a formulation choice, not a studied entity" and gives no dosing guidance. [10]
  • Regulators: no notice names Mito-Genesis. In January 2026 FDA told a compounding facility that 5-Amino-1MQ is not eligible for bulk compounding, and cited contaminated NAD+ from the same facility that sent three patients to an emergency room. [24]
  • Related stacks: 5-Amino-1MQ is also paired with SLU-PP-332 for fat loss; see the non-incretin fat-loss stack.

MitoBoost and other SS-31, MOTS-c and NAD+ pens

The three core parts in one ready-mixed 2 mL pen: SS-31 10 mg, MOTS-c 10 mg and NAD+ 200 mg (1:1:20). NAD+ is about 91% of the contents.

ProductSS-31MOTS-cNAD+FormatSources
MitoBoost10 mg10 mg200 mg2 mL pen, about 200 units[13]
Unbranded SS-31/MOTS-c/NAD+ blend10 mg10 mg200 mg300-unit pen[14]
  • Where sellers disagree: on units. MitoBoost's page counts about 200 units a pen, so 1 unit holds 50 mcg each of SS-31 and MOTS-c and 1 mg of NAD+. The unbranded pen counts 300 units and labels "733 mcg" per unit, which is the whole blend, not each part. The same dial setting delivers different amounts. [13], [14]
  • What the pen is claimed to add: all three parts at once, "repair" with SS-31 plus "fuel" with NAD+. The order sources teach, SS-31 first, is impossible with a premix, and no study has tested any order. [9]
  • Stated amounts: MitoBoost's page suggests 5 units a day for two weeks, then 10 units a day, for 6–8 weeks: 500 mcg each of SS-31 and MOTS-c and 10 mg of NAD+ at 10 units. That is a tenth or less of the SS-31 and MOTS-c amounts on solo dosing pages. [13]
  • Regulators: none name MitoBoost.

MitoStack and other SS-31 and MOTS-c vials

SS-31 and MOTS-c at 1:1, without NAD+.

ProductSS-31MOTS-cLab resultSources
MitoStack, 50 mg25 mg25 mgSample labelled "MITOSTACK 40mg": SS-31 24.74–26.02 mg, MOTS-c 27.99–29.23 mg in 3 vials[15], [16]
Unnamed SS-31 + MOTS-c blend, 40 mgNot statedNot stated41.96 mg in total[17]
  • Where the label and the test disagree: the certificate names a 40 mg product, yet its vials held about 53–55 mg, with MOTS-c up to 17% above the 25 mg label. A dose worked out from the label would carry more MOTS-c than planned. [16]
  • What each part is claimed to add: SS-31 for the mitochondrial membrane, MOTS-c as a metabolic signal. Neither claim has been tested together. [9]
  • Stated amounts and regulators: no dose on the page, and no notice names MitoStack.

Blazer

Community education groups describe Blazer, or Blazer Blend, as NAD+ with MOTS-c. We found no open page confirming the name or the amount of each part, so we do not print any. If you have a vial, the label and its certificate are the only guide to what a dose contains.

  • What MOTS-c is claimed to add to NAD+: a signal to build and use mitochondria, with NAD+ as "fuel". A protocol page for the pair as separate vials is in the combination schedules. [25]
  • Community interest: Blazer is often discussed in community education groups; that interest is not evidence that it works.
  • Regulators: no notice names Blazer.

Other names you may see

Nexus is listed only as a "mitochondrial research blend" without its parts. [17] Mitochondrial Powerhouse is one compounded formula of PEG-modified MOTS-c and SS-31 (chemically altered versions) with NAD+ and "exosomes", named in an FDA inspection record (see legal status). [26], [27] Methylene blue is not in any blend we found. SHRED contains MOTS-c but is a fat-loss blend, covered in the non-incretin fat-loss stack. MOTS-c, SS-31 and NAD+ added to a GLP-1 drug are covered in the GLP-1 support stack.

Why do people combine SS-31, MOTS-c and NAD+?

People combine them because each is said to help mitochondria in a different way, and they hope the effects add up. That is a rationale built on separate animal, cell and disease studies, not proof. [9]

  • "Repair, build, fuel." Protocol pages describe SS-31 as protecting the inner membrane, MOTS-c as a signal to build and use mitochondria, and NAD+ as the fuel both need. One page says its own plan is a "synthesis", not a tested protocol. [8], [18]
  • Tiredness on weight-loss drugs. One protocol page says the case is strongest for fatigue on semaglutide, tirzepatide or retatrutide. [8] In community education groups, that is the most common reason people start.
  • Add-ons. 5-Amino-1MQ is added to "spare" NAD+, and methylene blue as an alternative electron carrier, an idea from lab chemistry. [22], [28]
  • Fewer injections. A premixed pen or vial replaces three schedules with one. [13]

In community education groups, members disagree on whether SS-31 must come first, whether NAD+ and 5-Amino-1MQ overlap, and whether any of it works: energy gains are usually reported alongside a GLP-1 drug and other changes.

What does the evidence show?

No human study has tested any two parts together, and only SS-31 has large human trials on its own.

SS-31

Approved as Forzinity for Barth syndrome, a rare inherited disease, based on knee-strength gains in 8–10 people without a comparison group. Randomized trials, mostly of 40 mg a day, missed their main goals in Barth syndrome, mitochondrial muscle disease (218 people), heart failure and dry macular degeneration. [29], [30], [20], [31], [32] Full SS-31 evidence

MOTS-c

FDA found no published study that gave MOTS-c to people. The only human data are for a modified version, CB4211, in one short trial. The positive results are in mice and cells. [21], [33], [4] Full MOTS-c evidence

NAD+

About a dozen small human studies. A 180-person trial in heart failure found better heart pumping at one month with 10 mg IV a day for a week. No controlled trial has reported results for energy or aging, and no human study has yet reported blood levels after a subcutaneous injection. [5], [34] Full NAD+ evidence

5-Amino-1MQ

No human studies, case reports or registered trials. The fat-loss findings come from mice, mostly from one research group. [6], [35], [36] Full 5-Amino-1MQ evidence

Methylene blue

Established only for methemoglobinemia, a blood disorder, given by IV. For memory, one single 280 mg dose did not differ significantly from placebo. No trial has tested daily low doses in healthy people. [7], [37] Full methylene blue evidence

The combination

  • Old mice, 2020. 24-month-old mice received SS-31 (from an implanted pump), NMN (in drinking water) or both for 8 weeks. SS-31 partly restored how the heart relaxes and NMN restored its pumping under strain. The pair gave both of these separate gains at once but no extra gain on either measure, and only the pair raised resting NAD levels, which the authors called synergistic. NMN is an oral NAD+ precursor, not injected NAD+. [1]
  • Mouse stroke model, 2026. SS-31 plus NMN reduced brain damage and improved neurological scores more than either alone. Only the abstract was available, without doses. [2]
  • Nothing else. Searches found no study of MOTS-c with any other part, of 5-Amino-1MQ with NAD+, or of methylene blue with any part, and no registered trial of any pair. [19], [38]

How do the mitochondrial stack protocols line up?

Subcutaneous injection unless marked oral · amounts of each part, not of a blend · 1 mg = 1,000 mcg · none tested together
PartAmount each timeFrequencyTotal per day or weekDurationSource
SS-31, research vials5–10 mgOnce daily5–10 mg a day6–12 weeks, then 4 weeks off[39]
SS-31 as Forzinity (typical labeled dose, Barth syndrome only)40 mg (0.5 mL)Once daily40 mg a dayOngoing[3]
MOTS-c5 mg3 times a week15 mg a week4 weeks, then 4 weeks off[40]
NAD+50 mgTwice a week100 mg a week3 months, then 1 month off[41]
5-Amino-1MQ (optional, oral capsules)100 mgOnce daily, morning100 mg a day12 weeks, then 4 weeks off[23]
Methylene blue (optional, oral)5–15 mgOnce daily, morning5–15 mg a dayOngoing; the source says no breaks are needed[42]

These are each part's most common protocol from its own guide. They are not a stack protocol: no source tested them together, and the SS-31 label dose is for one rare disease. [9]

Schedules published for the combination

Each row is a complete schedule from one page, with that page's amounts kept together.

Subcutaneous injection unless marked · amounts of each part per dose · website practice, not tested doses
FormatPer doseFrequencyDurationSource
Separate vials: SS-31, then MOTS-c, with NAD+SS-31 6 mg; MOTS-c 5–10 mg from week 2; NAD+ 100–200 mg into a muscleSS-31 daily (after week 8, daily or 2–3 times a week); MOTS-c and NAD+ 2–3 times a week, then NAD+ 100–250 mg a week in total8–12 weeks or longer[8]
Separate vials: SS-31 + MOTS-cSS-31 3–5 mg + MOTS-c 5 mgDaily4–6 weeks, then 4 weeks off[39]
Separate vials: SS-31 + NAD+, then MOTS-c + NAD+Weeks 1–4 (up to 8): SS-31 1–2 mg, NAD+ 100 mg. Weeks 5–12: MOTS-c 10 mg a week in 3 injections, NAD+ 100 mgSS-31 daily; NAD+ 3 times a week12 weeks, then 4–8 weeks off[43]
Separate vials: NAD+ + MOTS-cMOTS-c 5–10 mg; NAD+ 50–200 mg into a muscleBoth 2–3 times a week; from week 7, MOTS-c twice a week and NAD+ 100–250 mg a week in total12 weeks[25]
Separate vials: SS-31 + MOTS-c + 5-Amino-1MQ ("Mitochondrial Reset")Start: SS-31 5–10 mg, MOTS-c 50 mcg, 5-Amino-1MQ 50 mg by mouth. Working: 10–30 mg, 100–300 mcg and 100–200 mgSS-31 and 5-Amino-1MQ daily; MOTS-c 3–5 times a week12 weeks, then 6–8 weeks off[18]
Separate products: 5-Amino-1MQ, then MOTS-c5-Amino-1MQ 100 mg by mouth alone for a week, then MOTS-c 10 mg added5-Amino-1MQ daily; MOTS-c 3–5 times a week8–12 weeks, then 4–6 weeks off[44]
Separate vials: SS-31 before MOTS-c or NAD+SS-31 5 mg5 times a week2 weeks before the other course[45]
Separate vials: SS-31, then MOTS-c (one after the other)SS-31 4 mg; then MOTS-c 5 mgSS-31 daily; then MOTS-c 3 times a week6 weeks, then 8 weeks[46]
Premixed MitoBoost pen (seller's plan)5 units, then 10 units: 250–500 mcg each of SS-31 and MOTS-c with 5–10 mg NAD+DailyWeeks 1–2, then to week 8 (6–8 weeks)[13]

The MOTS-c amounts range from 50 mcg to 10 mg per dose, and SS-31 from under 1 mg to 30 mg a day. The Mitochondrial Reset page also says SS-31 "did not receive final approval", which overlooks its 2025 accelerated approval as Forzinity. [18], [29]

How people line them up

Most pages start SS-31 alone, add MOTS-c from the second week or later, and run NAD+ throughout or later. Some pages start SS-31 and MOTS-c on the same day; a premixed pen gives all three at once. No study has compared any order. [8], [43], [39], [9] In community education groups, amounts inside a stack are often lower than solo amounts, and NAD+ is commonly moved to different days or sites from MOTS-c after reports of poor sleep, flushing and low-sugar feelings.

Where these numbers come from

The first table copies each part's most common protocol from its Doserly guide, citing the original protocol pages and label those guides verified. The combination schedules each come from one page and are shown as published, not merged. Blend amounts are arithmetic from listed contents. We did not combine one page's SS-31 amount with another page's MOTS-c amount, and we did not scale animal doses to people. [39], [3], [40], [41], [23], [42]

Open the searchable source directory

Plan it once. Three parts that start in different weeks, plus a swallowed add-on, are easy to mix up.

What are the overlapping risks and interactions?

The combination has never been safety-tested. The risks that add up are injection-site and allergic reactions, low blood sugar or blood pressure, a serious drug interaction with methylene blue, and vials that do not match the label. [3], [33], [7]

  • Injection-site reactions add up. All 12 people on SS-31 in the Barth trial had one, CB4211 (the MOTS-c analogue) caused them in 79% of people versus 33% on placebo, and NAD+ injections often sting or leave welts. With a premix, you cannot tell which part caused one. [3], [33], [47]
  • Allergic reactions. Forzinity's label warns of serious allergic reactions and rises in eosinophils, a type of white blood cell. People describe allergic-type reactions to MOTS-c, often after restarting. [3], [48]
  • Low blood sugar. 5-Amino-1MQ lowered blood sugar after a sugar dose in mice, and GLP-1 drugs raise the risk of lows when combined with insulin or a sulfonylurea. [49], [50] In community education groups, low-sugar episodes, and low blood pressure with fainting, are reported on multi-compound stacks; the cause could not be assigned.
  • NAD+ drips. In a small clinic study, all six people given 500 mg IV drips had nausea, cramps, a racing heart and chest pressure during the drips. [51]
  • Wrong or unsafe contents. FDA has warned about non-sterile NAD+ ingredients, and in 2026 described three patients sent to an emergency room after contaminated NAD+ from one compounded vial. Blend labels can miss too: the MitoStack test found more MOTS-c than labelled. [52], [24], [16]

Interactions.

  • Methylene blue and serotonergic drugs. Its boxed warning is for serotonin syndrome, which can be fatal, with SSRI, SNRI or MAOI antidepressants and opioids. The label sets no safe low dose and asks for 72 hours after the last dose before starting those drugs. Do not stop a prescribed antidepressant to make room for it. It must not be used with G6PD deficiency. [7], [53]
  • Methylene blue and NAD. In solution, methylene blue reacts directly with NADH, the other form of NAD. No study has tested it mixed with NAD+ or any peptide, and it is swallowed in this stack, not injected. [54]
  • SS-31 and metformin. SS-31 blocks MATE1, a kidney transporter that clears the diabetes medicine metformin. FDA required a study; no results are published. [3], [55]
  • Same syringe. Forzinity's label says not to mix it with other medicines in the same syringe. [3]

Be especially cautious or avoid them in pregnancy, breastfeeding or when trying to conceive; under 18; with severe kidney disease (the SS-31 label halves the dose when eGFR is below 30); on antidepressants or opioids (methylene blue); with diabetes medicines or a GLP-1 drug; with past allergic reactions; and in tested sport.

Legal and sport status (checked September 2026):

  • United States: SS-31 is approved only as Forzinity for Barth syndrome, and FDA has called research-market SS-31 an unapproved new drug. MOTS-c and NAD+ are not approved; an FDA advisory committee voted 7 to 5 in July 2026 to allow compounding MOTS-c, with no rule since, and NAD+ is still under review. In January 2026 FDA told a compounding facility that 5-Amino-1MQ is not eligible for bulk compounding and cited contaminated NAD+ from it. Only injected methylene blue is approved. [29], [56], [57], [58], [24], [7]
  • The one blend a regulator named: a July 2025 FDA inspection record (Form 483) for a compounding facility lists a "Mitochondrial Powerhouse" vial of PEG-modified MOTS-c and SS-31 with NAD+ 500 mg. It is the same facility as the January 2026 warning letter. A Form 483 records inspectors' observations, not a final FDA decision. No notice we found names MitoBoost, Blazer, Mito-Genesis or Nexus. [26]
  • Canada: Health Canada's advisory on peptides bought online, updated April 2026, lists MOTS-c, NAD+ and SS-31 among seized unauthorized products, each separately. No SS-31 medicine is authorized. [59], [60]
  • Australia: the TGA warns against importing unapproved peptides, restricts NAD+ products, and has proposed making swallowed methylene blue prescription-only. [61], [62], [63]
  • Sport: WADA names MOTS-c as banned at all times (S4.4.1), so every blend containing it is banned for tested athletes. Treat 5-Amino-1MQ as banned; NAD+ drips over 100 mL in 12 hours are prohibited. SS-31 and methylene blue are not named. [64], [65], [66], [67]

What should be monitored?

No official monitoring guidance exists for the stack. What the parts' trials and labels measured:

  • Injection sites and allergy: redness, lumps, rashes and hives; eosinophil count (blood count) on SS-31. [3], [33]
  • Kidney function: eGFR, because SS-31 leaves in the urine and its dose halves with severe kidney impairment. [3]
  • Blood sugar: fasting glucose and HbA1c, especially with 5-Amino-1MQ, diabetes medicines or a GLP-1 drug. [49], [50]
  • Heart rate and blood pressure: raised during NAD+ drips; low readings reported on multi-compound stacks. [51]
  • Liver enzymes: checked in the CB4211 trial. [33]
  • Methylene blue: confusion, fever, shaking or a racing heart can signal serotonin syndrome and need urgent care; methylene blue also turns urine blue or green. [7]
  • Energy and sleep: the main reasons people start, and easy to confuse with a GLP-1 drug or other changes.

What happens when you stop?

Stopping has barely been studied for any part, and nobody has studied stopping one part while continuing another. [21]

  • SS-31: in a short trial, less fatigue on the drug was gone two weeks after stopping. Eosinophil rises return to normal after stopping. [68], [3]
  • MOTS-c, NAD+ and 5-Amino-1MQ: no study has looked at what happens after stopping. [21], [6]
  • Methylene blue: with a half-life of about a day it lingers for days, so the 72-hour gap before serotonergic drugs still applies. [7]

Premixed blend or separate vials?

A premix is simpler to inject, but it fixes the ratio, hides which part caused a side effect, and has never been tested for stability with NAD+ and peptides mixed together. Separate vials take more steps but keep each dose adjustable and traceable.

  • Mixing and stability. No stability data exist for any NAD+ and peptide mixture. NAD+ alone breaks down in solution at rates that depend on the buffer and temperature. The Forzinity label says not to share a syringe with other medicines. [69], [3]
  • The ratio is locked. In MitoBoost, taking 5 mg of MOTS-c, the most common solo amount, means 1 mL of the pen and 100 mg of NAD+. In Mito-Genesis, the same 5 mg of MOTS-c brings 5 mg of 5-Amino-1MQ, the top of its injected range, and 50 mg of NAD+. If NAD+ stings or disturbs sleep, lowering it lowers everything. [13], [10], [40], [6]
  • Tracking and troubleshooting. With separate vials, a site reaction or poor sleep can be narrowed to one part, and the usual order (SS-31 first) is possible. With a blend, neither is.
  • Units. "10 mg of Mito-Genesis" is about 8.3 mg of NAD+ and 0.83 mg each of MOTS-c and 5-Amino-1MQ, not 10 mg of anything. Pen "units" differ by pen. Work out syringe units for your own vial with the reconstitution calculator. [10], [14]

Common questions about the mitochondrial stack

What is in MitoBoost?

SS-31 10 mg, MOTS-c 10 mg and NAD+ 200 mg in a 2 mL pen. Another seller sells the same formula unbranded as a 300-unit pen, where a unit holds a different amount. No study has tested the combination. [13], [14]

Should SS-31 come before MOTS-c and NAD+?

Nobody has shown that it matters. Most protocol pages start SS-31 a week or more before MOTS-c, and community education groups teach the same, but no study has compared any order. Some pages start both together, and premixed pens give all three at once. [8], [39], [9]

Can I take methylene blue with this stack if I'm on an antidepressant?

Not without your prescriber. Methylene blue's boxed warning is for serotonin syndrome with SSRI, SNRI or MAOI antidepressants and opioids, and the label sets no safe low dose. It also lingers for days after the last dose. In community education groups, many people using this stack take such medicines. [7], [53]

Does SS-31 with NAD+ work better than either alone?

Not shown in people. No human study has tested it. In old mice given SS-31 with NMN, an NAD+ precursor, the pair gave both drugs' separate heart gains (SS-31's on relaxation, NMN's on pumping under strain) but no extra gain on either measure, and only the pair raised resting NAD levels. [1]

How this guide was researched

How this guide was made

This stack guide re-cites the original sources verified for the SS-31, MOTS-c, NAD+, 5-Amino-1MQ and methylene blue guides. New research covered what the combination raises: studies of the parts together, blend names and contents (seller pages and lab certificates), stability after mixing, interactions and regulator notices. Community education groups informed how use is described; no private post is quoted or linked, and one personal post was left out for privacy.

The research file holds 93 records, 92 verified against the original page; this guide cites 69. Seller pages are cited only for listed contents and their own claims, never as evidence of purity or effect. Drafting used AI assistance under Doserly's editorial rules, followed by source checks and editorial review. It is general education, not medical advice.

Explore the sources

These are the documents cited in this guide. Studies, regulator pages, dosing websites and seller pages answer different questions. Seller pages and lab certificates are cited only for what a label says a product contains, never as proof of purity or effect. No study has tested this combination in people.

Showing 69 sources

  1. 01

    SS-31 and NMN: Two paths to improve metabolism and function in aged hearts ↗

    Animal study (mouse), combination

    Full text reviewed: combined group matched each drug's functional gain without adding to it; only the combination raised resting NAD(H).

  2. 02

    Elamipretide (SS-31) and NMN Combination Therapy Targets TREM2 to Mitigate Post-ischemic Brain Injury in Mice ↗

    Animal study (mouse), combination

    Original abstract reviewed; doses not given in the abstract.

  3. 03

    FORZINITY (elamipretide) injection, for subcutaneous use: prescribing information and instructions for use ↗

    Official label

    Official label reviewed in full.

  4. 04

    The mitochondrial-derived peptide MOTS-c promotes metabolic homeostasis and reduces obesity and insulin resistance. ↗

    Animal study

    Original full text reviewed.

  5. 05

    Effect of Nicotinamide Adenine Dinucleotide on Heart Failure Caused by Ischemic Cardiomyopathy: A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial. ↗

    Human trial (randomized, placebo)

    Original full text reviewed. 180 people; single hospital.

  6. 06

    Selective and membrane-permeable small molecule inhibitors of nicotinamide N-methyltransferase reverse high fat diet-induced obesity in mice ↗

    Cell / animal research

    Original full text reviewed.

  7. 07

    PROVAYBLUE (methylene blue) injection, for intravenous use: prescribing information ↗

    Official label

    Official label reviewed in full.

  8. 08

    SS-31 + MOTS-c Protocol: Mito Peptide Stack with NAD+ ↗

    Dosing website

    Selected page sections reviewed; protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  9. 09

    The Mitochondrial Triple Stack: MOTS-c + SS-31 + NAD+: What's Actually Tested vs. What's Taught ↗

    Dosing website

    Selected page sections reviewed; protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  10. 10

    Mito-Genesis Blend (NAD+ 100 mg + 5-Amino-1MQ 10 mg + MOTS-c 10 mg), 120 mg ↗

    Seller page

    Listed contents and posted lab result (batch MITO-CA-26F-120) reviewed; cited for the label only.

  11. 11

    Mito-Genesis, 120 mg (US page; certificate titled MitoPrime) ↗

    Seller page

    Listed contents and posted lab result reviewed; cited for the label only.

  12. 12

    5-Amino-1MQ / MOTS-c / NAD+ Blend ↗

    Seller page

    Listed contents and posted lab result (report 216327) reviewed; cited for the label only.

  13. 13

    MitoBoost (SS-31 10 mg + MOTS-c 10 mg + NAD+ 200 mg), 220 mg/2 mL ↗

    Seller page

    Listed contents, unit conversion and suggested use reviewed; cited for the label only.

  14. 14

    SS-31 (10 mg) + MOTS-c (10 mg) + NAD+ (200 mg) Blend ↗

    Seller page

    Listed contents and pen units reviewed; cited for the label only.

  15. 15

    MitoStack (SS-31 + MOTS-c), 50 mg ↗

    Seller page

    Listed contents reviewed; cited for the label only.

  16. 16

    Certificate of analysis Pept2607240061: MITOSTACK 40mg, lot 940L-02-DK (3 vials) ↗

    Lab certificate (seller-posted)

    Full certificate reviewed: SS-31 24.74–26.02 mg and MOTS-c 27.99–29.23 mg per vial. One lot; not proof of other vials.

  17. 17

    Certificate archive: SS-31 + MOTS-c blend (40 mg lot, 41.96 mg net) and Nexus mitochondrial blend (120.23 mg net) ↗

    Lab certificates (seller-posted)

    Archive entries reviewed; Nexus parts not listed.

  18. 18

    Mitochondrial Reset (SS-31 + MOTS-c + 5-Amino-1MQ) ↗

    Dosing website

    Dose table and 12-week block reviewed; protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  19. 19

    PubMed searches: MOTS-c with SS-31 or NAD+ precursors; SS-31 with NMN or NR; methylene blue with NAD+ precursors, SS-31 or MOTS-c; NNMT inhibitors with NAD+ precursors ↗

    Literature search

    No human study of any pair; animal combination studies limited to SS-31 with NMN.

  20. 20

    Efficacy and Safety of Elamipretide in Individuals With Primary Mitochondrial Myopathy: The MMPOWER-3 Randomized Clinical Trial. ↗

    Human study

    Selected original full-text sections reviewed.

  21. 21

    FDA Evaluation of MOTS-c-Related Bulk Drug Substances (MOTS-c (free base) and MOTS-c acetate) for Inclusion on the 503A Bulk Drug Substances List (PCAC briefing, July 23-24, 2026) ↗

    Regulatory source

    Full text reviewed.

  22. 22

    Nicotinamide N-Methyltransferase in Cardiovascular Diseases: Metabolic Regulator and Emerging Therapeutic Target ↗

    Review

    Full text reviewed: proposes evaluating NNMT inhibitors such as 5-Amino-1MQ with NAD+ precursors; notes no clinical trials have targeted NNMT.

  23. 23

    5-Amino-1MQ Dosage Guide: Protocols & Safety ↗

    Dosing website

    Selected original page sections reviewed (dose table and cycle table).

  24. 24

    GenoGenix LLC - 718739 - 01/20/2026 ↗

    Regulatory source

    Full letter reviewed: says the 5-Amino-1MQ iodide salt is not eligible for 503B bulk compounding, and describes three patients sent to an emergency room after endotoxin-contaminated NAD+ from one vial. The same facility is named in the July 2025 Form 483.

  25. 25

    NAD+ and MOTS-c stack ↗

    Dosing website

    Phase table reviewed; protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  26. 26

    FDA Form 483 (inspectional observations): GenoGenix LLC, outsourcing facility ↗

    Regulatory source (inspection record)

    Full document reviewed; lists a "Mitochondrial Powerhouse" 10 mL vial. Observations, not a final agency determination.

  27. 27

    Elite Peptide Stacks Instructions: Mitochondrial Powerhouse Stack ↗

    Clinic instructions

    Full document reviewed; lists PEG-MOTS-c, PEG-SS-31, NAD+ and "exosomes".

  28. 28

    Targeting the Electron Transport System for Enhanced Longevity ↗

    Review

    Full text reviewed: describes methylene blue as an alternative electron carrier that oxidizes NADH. Rationale, not a test of the stack.

  29. 29

    FDA grants accelerated approval to first treatment for Barth syndrome ↗

    Regulatory source

    Original announcement reviewed.

  30. 30
  31. 31
  32. 32
  33. 33

    CohBar Announces Positive Topline Results from the Phase 1a/1b Study of CB4211 (press release, SEC 8-K Ex 99.2) ↗

    Company report of the CB4211 trial

    Original filing reviewed.

  34. 34

    Preliminary Safety Analysis of Two Pilot Clinical Trials Involving Injections of Niagen (R), Nicotinamide Riboside Chloride ↗

    Human trial (randomized pilot; preprint)

    Original full text reviewed. Not peer reviewed; funded by a maker of NR; main pain and blood results to be reported elsewhere.

  35. 35

    Combined nicotinamide N-methyltransferase inhibition and reduced-calorie diet normalizes body composition and enhances metabolic benefits in obese mice ↗

    Cell / animal research

    Original full text reviewed.

  36. 36

    ClinicalTrials.gov search for 5-Amino-1MQ and related names ↗

    Study registry search

    Zero registered studies for 5-amino-1MQ, 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium, 5A1MQ or methylquinolinium.

  37. 37

    Multimodal Randomized Functional MR Imaging of the Effects of Methylene Blue in the Human Brain. ↗

    Human study

    Selected original full-text sections reviewed.

  38. 38

    ClinicalTrials.gov searches: MOTS-c; elamipretide with NAD+ or nicotinamide; methylene blue with NAD+ or NMN ↗

    Study registry search

    No registered trial gives any two parts of this stack together.

  39. 39

    Energy - Advanced - Advanced Mitochondrial Energy Research ↗

    Dosing website

    Selected page sections reviewed; protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  40. 40

    MOTS-c Dosage Calculator ↗

    Dosing website

    Selected original page sections reviewed; a protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  41. 41

    NAD+ (500mg) Injectable Peptide Patient Information ↗

    Protocol source

    Page text reviewed (retrieved September 2026). Describes practice; not clinical validation.

  42. 42

    Methylene Blue Dosage: The Complete 2026 Guide (Charts, Drops, mg & Safety) ↗

    Dosing website

    Selected page sections reviewed; protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  43. 43

    MOTS-c product page: Mitochondria Repair Protocol Sequencing (SS-31 + NAD+ + MOTS-c) ↗

    Seller page (protocol)

    Protocol section reviewed; protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  44. 44

    MOTS-c and 5-Amino-1MQ stack protocol ↗

    Seller page (protocol)

    Protocol text reviewed; protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  45. 45

    SS-31 Protocol - Dosing & Research ↗

    Dosing website

    Selected page sections reviewed; protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  46. 46

    Mito Stack (sequenced protocol) ↗

    Dosing website

    Protocol summary reviewed; protocol-source claim, not a tested dose.

  47. 47

    r/BodyHackGuide discussion thread ↗

    Community account

    Public thread; first-hand accounts reviewed; usernames omitted.

  48. 48

    “MOTS-c severe reaction alternatives” (r/Peptidesource thread) ↗

    Community account

    Public thread and comments reviewed; usernames not reproduced.

  49. 49

    Nicotinamide N-methyltransferase inhibition mitigates obesity-related metabolic dysfunction ↗

    Cell / animal research

    Original full text reviewed.

  50. 50

    WEGOVY (semaglutide) injection, for subcutaneous use; WEGOVY (semaglutide) tablets, for oral use: Prescribing Information ↗

    Label

    Selected label sections reviewed (Highlights, sections 1, 2 and 5.4): weekly 2.4 mg injection or daily tablet; low blood sugar risk rises when combined with insulin or an insulin secretagogue such as a sulfonylurea.

  51. 51

    Intravenous infusion of nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide (NAD(+)) versus nicotinamide riboside (NR): a retrospective tolerability pilot study in a real-world setting. ↗

    Human report (clinic records, not randomized)

    Original full text reviewed. 6 NAD+ and 8 NR clients; retrospective; authors employed by the clinic company.

  52. 52

    FDA reminds compounders to use ingredients suitable for sterile compounding ↗

    Regulator alert (FDA)

    Original full text reviewed.

  53. 53

    FDA Drug Safety Communication: Serious CNS reactions possible when methylene blue is given to patients taking certain psychiatric medications ↗

    Regulatory source

    Archived copy of the official page reviewed; FDA has since removed the original page.

  54. 54

    Kinetics of the oxidation of NADH by methylene blue in a closed system ↗

    Laboratory study (chemistry)

    Full text reviewed: methylene blue oxidizes NADH in buffered solution.

  55. 55

    Approval letter: NDA 215244, FORZINITY (elamipretide), accelerated approval and postmarketing requirements ↗

    Regulatory source

    Original letter reviewed.

  56. 56

    Warning Letter: TXP Innovations LLC dba Tex Peptides (MARCS-CMS 735067) ↗

    Regulatory source

    Original warning letter reviewed.

  57. 57

    July 23-24, 2026: Meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee ↗

    Regulatory source

    Full text reviewed.

  58. 58

    Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act ↗

    Regulator list (FDA)

    Category list updated May 14, 2026, and the September 2019 proposed rule reviewed.

  59. 59

    Think twice before injecting peptides bought online: unauthorized products can seriously harm you ↗

    Regulator advisory (Health Canada)

    Original full text reviewed.

  60. 60

    Drug Product Database: search for active ingredient elamipretide ↗

    Regulatory source

    Database search reviewed; no products found.

  61. 61

    TGA warning on the risks of importing unapproved peptide products ↗

    Regulatory source

    Full text reviewed; a general warning that does not name MOTS-c.

  62. 62

    NAD, NAD+, NADH or NMN medicines sold in Australia ↗

    Regulator safety alert (TGA, Australia)

    Original full text reviewed.

  63. 63

    Proposed amendments to the Poisons Standard: ACMS #49, ACCS #42 and Joint ACMS-ACCS #43, March 2026 (section 3.1, methylene blue) ↗

    Regulatory source

    Official consultation document reviewed (methylene blue section).

  64. 64

    WADA 2026 Prohibited List ↗

    Regulatory source

    Full text reviewed.

  65. 65

    Research Chemicals Put Athletes at Risk ↗

    Regulatory source

    Athlete guidance checked; does not name 5-Amino-1MQ.

  66. 66

    The 2026 Prohibited List ↗

    Anti-doping rule (WADA)

    Original full text reviewed.

  67. 67

    World Anti-Doping Code International Standard: Prohibited List 2026 ↗

    Regulatory source

    Official list reviewed; elamipretide is not named.

  68. 68

    A randomized crossover trial of elamipretide in adults with primary mitochondrial myopathy. ↗

    Human study

    Selected original full-text sections reviewed.

  69. 69

    Long-Term Stability of Nicotinamide Cofactors in Common Aqueous Buffers: Implications for Cell-Free Biocatalysis ↗

    Laboratory study (chemistry)

    Full text reviewed: NAD+ and NADH breakdown over 43 days depended on buffer and temperature. Not a study of injectable products.